Ülkücü Medya


The Mo Ibrahim Foundation yesterday announced that there is no winner of the 2016 Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership.

Foundation Finds No African Leaders Worthy Of $5m Prize

01 Mart 2017 Çarşamba 22:10

The prize was set up in 2006 and aims to recognise and reward former African heads of state that have played a positive public role in bringing about sustainable and equitable prosperity since stepping down. Candidates are those that have stepped down in the last three years after serving their democratically elected and constitutionally mandated term of office.

Chairman of the prize committee, Dr Salim Ahmed Salim, said: “As I emphasise each year, a very high bar was deliberately set when the Prize was launched in 2006. We recognise and applaud the important contributions that many African leaders have made to change their countries for the better. But the Prize is intended to highlight and celebrate truly exceptional leadership, which is uncommon by its very definition. After careful consideration, the Committee has decided not to award the Prize in 2016.”

The Ibrahim Prize has only been awarded four times so far, with the winners being Hifikepunye Pohamba of Namibia (2014), Pedro Pires of Cabo Verde (2011), Festus Mogae of Botswana (2008), and Joaquim Chissano of Mozambique (2007). Nelson Mandela was the inaugural Honorary Laureate in 2007.

Winners of the prize received $5million over 10 years and $200,000 a year for the rest of their lives thereafter.


UYARI: Küfür, hakaret, rencide edici cümleler veya imalar, inançlara saldırı içeren ve imla kuralları ile
yazılmamış yorumlar onaylanmamaktadır.